- Why There Is No Published CIT Pass Rate
- What Actually Gets Scored on the Path
- The One Proctored Exam: Advanced Intrusion Systems
- The Networking Terminal Quiz
- Where Candidates Realistically Stall
- Reading the 16 Topic Areas for Risk
- Retakes, Windows, and the Cost of a Miss
- A Prep Sequence Built Around the Two Components
- How to Evaluate Any Pass-Rate Claim You See
- Frequently Asked Questions
- No official pass rate exists for Certified Intrusion Technician Level II; ESA does not publish candidate pass or fail statistics.
- CIT is a coursework-and-experience credential, so there is no single standalone CIT exam to have a pass rate.
- The AIS proctored exam is 50 multiple-choice questions, 2 hours, open book with the manual, and a 70% pass mark.
- The Fundamentals of Networking course ends with a short quiz requiring 70% or higher; its length is not publicly verified.
Why There Is No Published CIT Pass Rate
Anyone searching for a headline percentage for the Certified Intrusion Technician Level II credential will come away empty-handed, and that is the most important thing the data shows. The Electronic Security Association (ESA) and National Training School do not publish pass or fail statistics for the CIT pathway. The scored/unscored split on the one proctored exam is also not disclosed. Any number you see attached to "the CIT pass rate" without a citation to ESA should be treated as invention.
There is a second, structural reason a single pass rate cannot exist. CIT Level II is not one exam. It is a certification earned by combining a prerequisite credential, verified industry time, two required courses, and a documented certification request. Only one of those pieces, the Advanced Intrusion Systems (AIS) course, carries a proctored certification examination. The other required course, Fundamentals of Networking, ends with a short terminal quiz. A rate calculated across "the CIT exam" would blend two very different assessments, which is why responsible analysis keeps them apart.
If you want the cutoff details in isolation, the companion piece on the CIT passing score walks through exactly what you need to clear. For a candid read on difficulty without fabricated statistics, see how hard the CIT exam is.
What Actually Gets Scored on the Path
To interpret any pass-rate discussion, you need to know which gates in the CIT pathway involve a graded assessment and which are administrative checks. The distinction matters, because many candidates who "fail" to earn the credential actually stall on paperwork or timing, not on exam content.
| Requirement | Type | What It Involves |
|---|---|---|
| Active qualifying Level I-or-higher credential | Administrative | ESA Certified Alarm Technician Level 1 or higher, or an accredited equivalent certificate |
| Experience | Administrative | 24 months of verified industry work, or 24 months holding the qualifying Level I credential |
| Advanced Intrusion Systems | Graded, proctored exam | 50 multiple-choice questions, 2 hours, open book with manual, 70% to pass |
| Fundamentals of Networking | Graded course quiz | Terminal quiz requiring 70% or higher; length and timer not verified |
| Course recency | Administrative | Both required courses completed within the previous five years |
| Certification request | Administrative | Documented request with supporting materials; the request itself is free |
Notice how few of these are knowledge tests. The gating items that trip people are often the prerequisite credential or the documentation of work history. The full eligibility picture is covered in CIT requirements: eligibility, prerequisites and how to qualify, and it is worth reading before you spend money on either course.
The One Proctored Exam: Advanced Intrusion Systems
The AIS examination is the closest thing the CIT path has to a conventional certification exam, so it is where most pass-rate curiosity belongs. The verified specifications, drawn from the current ESA listings, are narrow and precise:
- Format: 50 multiple-choice questions.
- Time: 2 hours.
- Resources: open book, with use of the course manual.
- Passing score: 70%.
- Proctoring: a verified proctor is required for certification purposes, delivered through Honorlock/Absorb online proctoring or approved in-person arrangements.
- Window: six months to complete the exam process.
A 70% threshold on 50 questions means you can miss a limited number of items and still pass, but because the scored/unscored split is not disclosed, you cannot assume all 50 count toward your result. Plan to answer every question as if it matters.
Open book is the detail that shapes strategy most. It does not make the exam trivial; it changes what is being tested. Pure recall matters less than your ability to locate the right passage in the manual quickly and apply it to a scenario. Candidates who arrive without a tabbed, annotated manual spend their two hours searching instead of reasoning. The approach is laid out in the CIT study guide.
The Networking Terminal Quiz
Fundamentals of Networking is a 4-hour course that finishes with a short quiz requiring 70% or higher. That four hours is instruction time, not a testing clock. The public listing does not verify how many questions the quiz contains, what format they take, or whether there is a numerical timer. It would be a mistake to assume the quiz mirrors the AIS exam: it should not be treated as 50 questions, as open book, or as proctored in the same way.
Practically, this means the networking component is best prepared for by mastering the seven published subject areas rather than by trying to guess a format. Those subjects are:
- What a network is and what its components are
- Common network topologies
- How networks communicate and share data
- Storage types used in networked systems
- Composition of a network cable
- How a LAN and WAN function and the differences between them
- The steps of troubleshooting network problems
Because the official materials publish no item counts or weights, you cannot say which of these seven is "largest." Treat them as roughly equal in importance until you have evidence otherwise.
Where Candidates Realistically Stall
With no failure statistics available, the useful question becomes: where do the structural risks sit? Reading the pathway closely, a few friction points stand out, none of which depends on a pass-rate figure.
Prerequisite and documentation gaps
The pathway requires an active qualifying credential and verified experience, plus a documented certification request. A candidate can pass both course assessments and still be unable to receive the credential if the work-history verification or the prerequisite certificate is not in order. Gather these first.
The five-year course recency rule
Both required courses must have been completed within the previous five years. Someone who took AIS long ago and returns to finish networking may find the earlier course no longer counts. Check dates before you assume prior coursework carries over.
Treating open book as easy
An open manual rewards preparation but punishes complacency. Candidates who skim the manual once and trust they can look things up often run short on time across 50 questions in two hours. That works out to a little over two minutes per item, which is generous only if you already know where answers live.
Mixing up the two components
Because AIS and networking use the same 70% mark, it is tempting to study them as one block. Keep the boundaries clean. The AIS exam is proctored and open book; the networking quiz has unverified specifications. Preparing for each on its own terms avoids false assumptions.
Key Takeaway
Because no pass rate is published, your best risk reducer is controlling what you can: confirm your prerequisite credential and work history first, verify course dates fall inside the five-year window, and prepare the AIS manual as a fast-lookup tool before exam day.
Reading the 16 Topic Areas for Risk
The sixteen headings used across this site organize the nine published AIS topics and the seven published networking subjects. They are preparation scope, not an official weighted blueprint. ESA publishes no percentages, so no domain can be called the largest or the most heavily tested. What you can do is assess which areas are likely to demand the most of you given your background. The full breakdown lives in CIT exam domains: all 16 content areas.
AIS Topics: Electronics, Controls, and Power (Domains 1-3)
Practical application of electronics, practical application of controls, and system power form the technical foundation of the AIS course.
- Candidates from a sales or installation-adjacent background often find these the steepest because they require electrical reasoning, not memorization.
- System power questions tend to reward careful, scenario-based thinking, so practice working through them rather than just reading about them.
AIS Topics: Input/Output and Networking and Communication (Domains 4-5)
Input and output, along with networking and communication within intrusion systems, bridge hardware behavior and signaling.
- Understand how devices report and how panels respond.
- Note the overlap in vocabulary with the separate Fundamentals of Networking course, but keep the two assessments distinct.
AIS Topics: Advanced Systems, Testing, Project Management, and Sensors (Domains 6-9)
Advanced systems and devices, testing and commissioning, project management, and residential and commercial sensor application round out the AIS scope.
- Testing and commissioning rewards a field-procedure mindset.
- Sensor application questions often turn on choosing the right device for a residential versus commercial setting.
Networking Subjects (Domains 10-16)
The seven networking subjects span concepts (components, topologies, communication, LAN versus WAN), infrastructure detail (storage types, cable composition), and process (troubleshooting steps).
- The troubleshooting-steps subject is process-oriented, so know the sequence, not just the vocabulary.
- Cable composition and storage types are discrete factual areas well suited to flash-style review.
Retakes, Windows, and the Cost of a Miss
Even without a pass rate, you can price the downside of failing, and that is arguably more useful than a statistic. According to the ESA FAQ, the retake fee is $135, and you have a six-month testing window to complete the exam process. A first-attempt failure therefore costs money and eats into a clock that is already running.
| Cost Item | Member | Nonmember |
|---|---|---|
| Full online bundle | $644.40 | $1,020 |
| Existing-prerequisite route: AIS only | $308 | $440 |
| Existing-prerequisite route: Networking only | $100 | $140 |
| Existing-prerequisite route: combined | $408 | $580 |
| Certification request | Free | Free |
| Retake fee (ESA FAQ) | $135 | $135 |
The existing-prerequisite route applies when you already hold the qualifying prerequisites and only need the two required courses; the combined figures there are calculated from the two course prices. The renewal fee is not verified, so confirm it directly with ESA when the time comes. A full breakdown is in CIT certification cost: complete pricing breakdown, and a candid look at payoff is in whether the CIT certification is worth it.
Timing and availability of sessions are covered in CIT exam dates: testing windows, deadlines and scheduling.
A Prep Sequence Built Around the Two Components
This is the one place where generic methodology earns a seat, and only as it maps to CIT's structure. Because the two components have different formats and different risk profiles, sequence them deliberately rather than studying everything at once.
Paperwork and Foundations
- Confirm your qualifying Level I-or-higher credential is active and your 24 months of experience is documentable.
- Check that both course completions fall within the five-year window.
- Begin AIS domains 1-3 (electronics, controls, system power), the most technical material.
AIS Depth and Manual Annotation
- Work through input/output, networking and communication, and advanced systems and devices.
- Tab and annotate the manual so any topic is reachable in seconds.
AIS Application and Networking Fundamentals
- Cover testing and commissioning, project management, and sensor application.
- Move to the seven networking subjects and drill cable composition and storage types.
Timed Practice and Review
- Simulate 50 questions in 2 hours using the manual, practicing lookup speed.
- Review LAN versus WAN and the troubleshooting steps for the networking quiz.
For timed drills that mimic the AIS pacing, use the CIT practice tests to build speed before you sit the proctored exam. A condensed refresher of must-know facts is available in the CIT cheat sheet.
How to Evaluate Any Pass-Rate Claim You See
You will encounter forum posts, training-vendor pages, and social threads that assert a percentage. Use a short checklist before trusting any of them:
- Is it about this credential? Several unrelated certifications share the "CIT" acronym. A figure attached to a different credential says nothing about Certified Intrusion Technician Level II.
- Does it cite ESA or National Training School? Only the issuer holds the real data. A number with no source is speculation.
- Does it separate AIS from networking? A claim that lumps both into "the exam" misunderstands the pathway.
- Does it confuse course length with exam length? Statements that treat the 14-hour or 4-hour course figures as exam timers show the author has the format wrong.
If you are still orienting yourself to the credential, the explainers on what CIT certification is and what CIT stands for clarify exactly which credential this site covers. The practical payoff in the job market is discussed in CIT jobs and, for earnings context, the CIT salary guide.
Frequently Asked Questions
There is no published pass rate. ESA and National Training School do not release candidate pass or fail statistics, and the scored/unscored split on the AIS exam is also undisclosed. Be skeptical of any specific percentage that does not cite the issuer.
No. CIT is a coursework-and-experience credential. The published pathway has no standalone CIT exam. The proctored examination belongs to the Advanced Intrusion Systems course, and the Fundamentals of Networking course ends with a separate terminal quiz.
You need 70%. The AIS exam is 50 multiple-choice questions over 2 hours, open book with the course manual. The networking terminal quiz also requires 70% or higher, though its length and format are not publicly verified.
According to the ESA FAQ, the retake fee is $135, and you have a six-month window to complete the exam process. Because that window is limited, avoid scheduling your first attempt before you are genuinely ready.
It is valid for 24 months. Renewal requires 24 CEU hours per two-year period, plus an application and fee. The current renewal fee has not been verified, so confirm it directly with ESA.