CIT logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CIT Training

TL;DR
  • CIT Level II training is two required ESA courses: Advanced Intrusion Systems and Fundamentals of Networking.
  • The AIS exam is 50 multiple-choice questions, two hours, open book with the course manual, 70% to pass.
  • Networking is a four-hour course ending in a terminal quiz requiring 70% or higher.
  • Both courses must be completed within five years, and you need an active Level I-or-higher credential first.

What "CIT Training" Actually Means

Most certifications have one exam and a pile of prep books. Certified Intrusion Technician Level II is different. It is an Electronic Security Association (ESA) coursework-and-experience credential, so "training" is not preparation for a single test. It is the credential's core requirement. You complete two specific courses, pass the assessments attached to them, document your experience, and submit a certification request.

That distinction shapes how you should prepare. If you are new to the credential, start with What Is CIT Certification? for the big picture, then return here for the training detail. The pathway has no standalone CIT examination and no unified weighted blueprint, so any plan built around "the CIT exam" will aim at something that does not exist. You are preparing for two separate components, each with its own format and rules.

Keep the components separate: The 50-question, two-hour, open-book, 70% specifications belong to the Advanced Intrusion Systems examination only. They do not describe the networking quiz, and they do not describe a combined CIT test. Treating them as one exam is the most common planning mistake.

The Two Required Courses

CIT Level II training consists of two required courses delivered through ESA's National Training School:

FeatureAdvanced Intrusion Systems (AIS)Fundamentals of Networking
Published topicsNineSeven
AssessmentProctored multiple-choice examinationShort terminal quiz
Passing score70%70% or higher
Question count50Not verified publicly
Time limitTwo hoursNot verified publicly
Course manual useOpen bookNot stated; do not assume
Course length14 hours online instructionFour hours

The sixteen content areas you will see referenced in study materials map directly onto these two courses: nine from AIS and seven from networking. They are public course topics, not an official sixteen-domain exam specification. For a full walkthrough of how those headings are organized, see CIT Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 16 Content Areas.

Advanced Intrusion Systems: Nine Topics to Master

AIS is the heavier of the two courses and the only one with a formal proctored exam. ESA publishes nine topics. Because no item weights are published, no topic can be called the largest, so treat all nine as fair game and let your own job experience tell you where your gaps are.

Practical Application of Electronics

The foundation for everything else in the course. Expect questions that assume you can reason about circuits in an intrusion context rather than recite definitions.

  • Basic electrical relationships and how they show up in alarm circuits
  • Reading and reasoning about component behavior in a loop or zone

Practical Application of Controls

How control panels and related components are applied in real installations, not just described on a spec sheet.

  • How control equipment responds to inputs and drives outputs
  • Configuration thinking: what a setting changes in system behavior

System Power

Power is where field technicians lose the most time on callbacks. Know how a system is powered, backed up, and kept running.

  • Primary and standby power concepts
  • Recognizing power-related causes behind symptoms that look like device faults

Input and Output

The relationship between what detects an event and what responds to it.

  • How inputs are monitored and how outputs are triggered
  • Matching device behavior to the intended system response

Networking and Communication

The AIS-side treatment of how intrusion systems communicate. This overlaps in theme with the separate networking course but remains a distinct AIS topic, so study it in the AIS manual's terms.

Advanced Systems and Devices

Equipment beyond entry-level installs. Candidates are expected to understand how more sophisticated devices fit into a larger system.

Testing and Commissioning

Proving a system works before handoff. Think in terms of verification sequences and documentation of results.

Project Management

An unusual topic for a technician credential, and it signals the Level II intent: work that involves planning, coordination, and accountability beyond a single install.

Residential and Commercial Sensor Application

Choosing and applying sensors appropriately across residential and commercial settings, including why a sensor suits one environment and not another.

Because the exam is open book with the course manual, the skill being tested is navigation and judgment, not raw memorization. Candidates who have never used the manual under time pressure tend to lose minutes hunting for answers. Difficulty discussions often miss this point; How Hard Is the CIT Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 covers it in more depth.

Fundamentals of Networking: Seven Topics to Master

The networking course is shorter and more conceptual. It is built for technicians who install and service systems that increasingly live on IP networks. ESA publishes seven subjects:

  • What a network is and what its components are: the vocabulary the rest of the course builds on.
  • Common network topologies: how devices are arranged and what that arrangement means for failure and expansion.
  • How networks communicate and share data: the mechanics of moving information between devices.
  • Storage types used in networked systems: where data lives, which matters for video and event logs.
  • Composition of a network cable: the physical layer, including what is inside the cable you pull.
  • How a LAN and WAN function and how they differ: scope, reach, and typical use.
  • The steps of troubleshooting network problems: a structured, repeatable process rather than guesswork.
Do not import AIS assumptions: The public listing does not verify the networking quiz's question count, item format, or timer. It confirms only the 70% or higher requirement. Do not assume it is open book, proctored the way AIS is, or sized like the AIS exam. Check the instructions inside your course when you reach the quiz.

Course Hours vs. Exam Timers

Candidates routinely confuse how long a course takes with how long an exam lasts. Keep these straight:

  • The online AIS course is 14 instruction hours, and the course page is tagged Revised 2020. A current live listing shows 16 instruction hours. Either way, these are course lengths, not exam timers.
  • The AIS examination itself is two hours with 50 multiple-choice questions.
  • The networking course is four hours of instruction. That figure is not a quiz timer.
  • The online AIS course also describes a short 70% completion quiz. That is separate from the proctored certification examination and should not be conflated with it.
  • Proctoring runs through Honorlock/Absorb online or approved in-person arrangements, administered by ESA.

For the exact scoring threshold and how it applies, see CIT Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass. The scored/unscored split and a candidate pass rate are not publicly disclosed, so be skeptical of anyone quoting a precise figure; CIT Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows explains what can and cannot be said.

Training Costs and Enrollment Routes

Pricing depends on whether you are an ESA member and whether you already hold the prerequisites that let you skip bundled content.

RouteMemberNonmember
Full online bundle$644.40$1,020
Existing-prerequisite route (AIS + networking)$408 calculated$580 calculated
AIS component alone$308$440
Networking component alone$100$140
Certification requestFree

Two additional numbers matter for budgeting. The ESA FAQ lists a $135 retake fee and a six-month window to complete the testing process. A failed first attempt therefore costs real money and consumes part of a finite window. Membership clearly pays for itself on the bundle alone. A complete breakdown, including what each route includes, lives in CIT Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

Prerequisites That Gate Your Training

You cannot simply buy the two courses and receive the credential. The current program requires:

  1. An active ESA Certified Alarm Technician Level 1 or higher ESA/accredited certificate.
  2. Either 24 months of verified industry work history or at least 24 months holding the qualifying Level I credential.
  3. Completion of both required courses within the previous five years.
  4. A certification request with supporting documentation.

The Level I prerequisite is distinct from the two additional Level II courses. If you are weighing whether you are even eligible, CIT Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify walks through each gate. The five-year course window also matters for planning: finishing AIS and then letting years pass before completing networking can put the earlier course at risk of aging out.

Sequencing Your Preparation

Generic study systems matter less here than matching your order of work to the course structure. One reasonable approach, tied to the actual content, looks like this:

Week 1

Electronics and Power

  • Work through the electronics, controls, and system power topics first; later AIS material assumes them.
  • Flag manual sections you will want to find fast during the open-book exam.
Week 2

Inputs, Outputs, and Devices

  • Cover input and output, networking and communication (AIS version), and advanced systems and devices.
  • Tie each concept to a system you have actually worked on.
Week 3

Commissioning, Projects, and Sensors

  • Study testing and commissioning, project management, and sensor application.
  • Take timed practice runs at a pace that fits 50 questions in two hours with manual lookups.
Week 4

Networking Course and Review

  • Complete the four-hour networking instruction and its terminal quiz.
  • Return to weak AIS topics identified in practice.

Doing the networking course after AIS is a judgment call, not a rule. Some technicians prefer to clear the shorter course first for momentum. For a fuller weekly framework and test-day habits, see CIT Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and keep CIT Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts handy for last-minute review. You can also test your recall with realistic questions on the CIT practice test site.

Key Takeaway

Because AIS is open book, practice under the same conditions you will face: a two-hour clock, 50 questions, and the manual open. Speed in finding answers is a trainable skill, and it is the one most candidates neglect.

After Training: Request, Renewal, and Employers

Finishing the courses is not the finish line. You still submit the documented certification request, which carries no fee. Once certified, the credential is valid for 24 months. Renewal requires 24 CEU hours per two-year period plus an application and fee; the current renewal fee is not verified, so confirm it with ESA before budgeting. Scheduling specifics for exam sessions and windows are covered in CIT Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

The credential tends to matter most to employers in the electronic security and alarm industry, such as alarm and security integrators, installation and service companies, and commercial security contractors, where technicians move from basic installs into more complex intrusion work. If you are weighing the career side, CIT Jobs covers where the credential is used, and Is the CIT Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 frames the investment. Earnings are best discussed qualitatively unless you have employer-specific data; the CIT Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis explains the limits of what can be claimed. When you are ready to drill, the main practice test is a good place to start.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is there one CIT exam I need to train for?

No. CIT Level II has no standalone examination. Certification comes from completing the Advanced Intrusion Systems and Fundamentals of Networking courses, meeting the prerequisite and experience requirements, and submitting a documented certification request.

What are the AIS exam specifications?

The AIS examination is 50 multiple-choice questions in two hours, open book with the course manual, with a 70% passing score and a verified proctor. The scored/unscored split is not publicly disclosed.

Does the networking course have the same exam format?

No. Networking is a four-hour course ending in a terminal quiz that requires 70% or higher. Its question count, format, and timer are not verified publicly, so do not assume AIS rules apply.

How long do I have to finish after enrolling?

The ESA FAQ describes a six-month testing window, and the required courses must be completed within five years of your certification request. A retake costs $135, so plan your first attempt carefully.

What do I need before starting the courses?

You need an active ESA Certified Alarm Technician Level 1 or higher certificate, plus 24 months of verified industry work or 24 months holding the qualifying Level I credential. See the full eligibility rundown in the requirements guide linked above.

Ready to pass your CIT exam?

Put this into practice with free CIT questions across every exam domain.